Dr. John Thøgersen

Professor Department of Management Aarhus University, Denmark

John Thøgersen is professor of economic psychology at the Department of Management at Aarhus University, where he coordinates the Marketing and Sustainability Research Group and is also affiliated with MAPP, the Center for Research on Customer Relations in the Food Sector.  

His core research focus is sustainable consumption in developed and emerging economies. His research projects focus on consumer acceptance of climate policy and willingness to reduce their climate footprint, consumer responses to “true” prices on food and to various eco- and climate labeling, spillover of pro-environmental behavior and the establishment of a (more) sustainable lifestyle, and drivers and impediments for growing the market for organic food in Europe.  

He received his Master of Science in economics and Ph.D. in economics from Aalborg University, Denmark, in 1980 and 1985, and his advanced doctoral degree from Aarhus School of Business in 1999. With extensive experience derived from participation in national and EU research projects, he has published in prestigious journals and served as the editor of the Journal of Consumer Policy, published by Springer-Nature.  

Apart from serving as a full-time professor of economic psychology and Ph.D. supervisor at the Aarhus School of Business, Denmark, his other academic roles include adjunct professor at NTNU, Trondheim, Norway; associate professor, Aarhus School of Business, Denmark; Ph.D. fellow and postdoc, Aalborg University, Denmark; and academic secretary, Danish Social Science Research Council, visiting faculty at Stanford University (USA), Technical University of Berlin (Germany), Leiden University (Netherlands), and Sun Yat-Sen University (Guangzhou, China). 


He is also a recipient of several accolades for his contribution in the areas of research and psychology, which include being appointed a Fellow of the International Association of Applied Psychology (IAAP)Dansk Marketingforsknings Pris (Danish Marketing Research Award) in 2015, and the Shelby D. Hunt Award in 2014.